Skip to content

SPG Block

February 21, 2016

Hello Positive People! Headache on the Hill, Part 2 is on its way, but for now I wanted to show you a SPG block- done at home by me! The sphenopalatine ganglion is a group of nerves, which is linked to the trigeminal nerve, located behind the nose. The trigeminal nerve is very involved in migraine, so by treating it with anesthetic, we are hoping to help prevent migraines. My treatment is with .6 cc Bupivacaine in each nostril, twice a week for six weeks. Cross your fingers!

I thought you’d be interested in seeing the catheter at work – my online migraine buddies sure wanted to see it. Here we go….  

I didn’t film drawing up the meds, but here’s a video of treatment on the left side. It was a bit tough at first, and I feel and look horrible today, but I wanted you to see how it works. 

 
And the right side:

 
So, anyone who wants to call me a junkie, because all I want is my opioids, can kiss my &#*~%. The reason I say that is lately online whenever I defend the right for chronic pain patients to have access to opioids, I get called a junkie and worse.  It’s frustrating, because I will try any non-opioid treatment out there, including sticking a catheter WAY up my nose. Tee hee!!!! Don’t even get me started on the nerve stimulator surgeries I had a few years back. Four surgeries in three months, MRSA infection, shaved head, horrible scars for life, yuck. And the damn thing had to be removed. Remember this? Seems like five lifetimes ago….

   
   

 
Migraines suck, but migraineurs fight back & try anything. We’re a resilient bunch, aren’t we? 🙂 My goal is to get rid of my pain – any way I can. Let’s hope this treatment helps. And I LOVE that I can do it myself….
Stay POSITIVE people!  

ACHE SPG Block Info

From → #migraine

2 Comments
  1. Have you tried diet modifications? After 15 years of trying many different treatments, I am finally getting relief from eliminating specific foods from my diet. It has taken a lot of time and energy to re-work recipes, so I am posting them on my site (along with my thoughts) with the hope that someone else won’t have to do all the work to figure it out.

    • Thanks – yes I have tried diet modifications. I have celiac disease, so I stopped eating gluten a year and a half ago with no effect on my migraines. I have not found any other dietary triggers either. Best of luck to you.

Leave a Reply

